A humble food and wine guide of Prague !

It was my first visit to Prague and I enjoyed it very much ! This Baroque romantic architecture with a touch of Gothic , millenaire trees on big Parisian boulevards , Austro-Hungarian Empire prints still vivid – a very tasteful old town , where every single details matter to the eye.

Obviously Prague is famous for its Plisner beer , but I never thought I could get to drink as many amazing natural wines in a single weekend ! Czech wines were definitely the big ( positive) discovery of my weekend and here is why :

The variety might not be huge in terms of grappes but the quality is very high , wines I had there were consistently good :

First night, I didn’t know about Czech wines so went for a safe bet : an unfiltered Italian white wine from Elisabeth Foradori – skin macerated for 7 days , its density , colour and flavour were just remarquable . For me,this Manzoni Bianco Fontanasanta 2015 is  a big win despite having been recently disappointed by one of Foradori red wine !  Complex yet balanced wine with many funky layers of taste with a long dry finish , surprisingly excellent with Beef Carpaccio, fermented onions and Buratta cheese as well as a Pasta dish.

Tasting notes:
Color :dense yellow
Aroma:notes of ripe yellow fruit , exotic fruits, and jasmin
Taste: juicy ( like only good natural wine can be) , precise, beautiful amplitude and flavour

Must visit wine bars in Prague :

Surprinsly, this bohemian bar is from the same owners than Lokal ( lokal’s website), which I won’t cover in this post as I’m sure every travellers to Prague is aware that Lokal is the best place to taste Czech food and Pislner beer.

For me, this bar does not feel like it belongs to a chain of restaurants , which usually and surely psychologically makes me doubt the place’s quality and “specialness”.

Here the wines on offer by the glass are top notch and affordable  – by far the best and cheapest wines in Prague ! Fantastic set-up , secret entry through a courtyard , almost with a run-down feel to it , but with an amazing and somehow intriguing ” cave à vin” – perhaps the effect of the ceiling voutes and candles atmosphere.

FullSizeRender_16
Hidden courtyard
FullSizeRender_15
Great atmosphere , sharing table
FullSizeRender_7
The Cellar
FullSizeRender_6
Low key design throughout

First contact with Czech wines and an excellent French red :

 

I will only focus on reviewing my favorite wines of the night –

  • First a French Cabernet Sauvignon Rednoz 2014 by Guy Bossard from the Loire Valley region , which I really like:

Tasting notes:

Color :ruby

Aroma:cherry,currant, blackberry

Taste: juicy,fresh,low acid wine, mineral and earthy, clean and smooth finish with light dose of tannins ( need to be decanter for at least an hour)

  • Pinot Noir  Čtvrtě 2015 from Stapleton & Springer wine estate which is located 30km from Austria : this wine produced by J. Springer, an emblematic figure of Czech Pinot Noir, is aged 12 months in oak barrel and its tannins remain smooth.  

 

Great selection of natural wine by the glass with a very friendly sommelier who is flexible and agrees to open new bottles and sell them to us by the glass which is always nice to have when one is travelling and would like to try as many new wines as possible .

IMG_9458
Amazing selection of Czech wines !

 

 

Now the best for the end : my experience at the one michelin star * restaurant la Bohème Bourgeoise( LaDegustation).

I loved the weekend I spent in Prague , that’s for sure and my birthday night dinner was the highlight. I liked everything about my time at la Boheme Bourgeoise, from the moment you step in , you feel right – not too of a fancy impersonal place, not an everyday place- just the right balance you expect to find in such restaurant to make you feel comfortable and ready for a great and tasteful experience.

 

I highly recommend the food and wine pairing menu – AMAZING experience to your palate and senses and here the sommelier is listening to your preferences and can adapt the wine to meet your taste !

 

FullSizeRender_18
Simple and neat setting
FullSizeRender_20
My birthday evening menu ! A menu to remember 🙂
FullSizeRender_17
open plan kitchen

 

Amazing selection of natural wines 

 

Balanced and thought-through food 

FullSizeRender_21FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender_5

Leave a comment